Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. G. Murrell Smith Jr., Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Tom Young Jr. Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Chris Murphy Hope Blackley-Logan Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

June 22, 2020

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial offices listed below:

The term of office currently held by the Honorable James E. Lockemy, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Aphrodite K. Konduros, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Thomas E. Huff, Judge of the Court of Appeals, Seat 8, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2021. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2024.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Roger E. Henderson, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2021. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Robert Eldon Hood, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Roger M. Young, Judge of the Circuit Court, Ninth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Robin B. Stilwell, Judge of the Circuit Court, Thirteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 3, upon his retirement on or before June 30, 2021. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2027.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Perry M. Buckner III, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Emma Dean, Counsel August 15, 2020. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2024.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Carmen Tevis Mullen, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fourteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Benjamin H. Culbertson, Judge of the Circuit Court, Fifteenth Judicial Circuit, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable George Marion McFaddin Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 1, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Ryan Kirk Griffin, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 2, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Clifton Newman, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 3, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Edward W. (Ned) Miller, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 4, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable J. Mark Hayes II, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 5, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable William H. Seals Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable J. Cordell Maddox Jr., Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 7, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable David Craig Brown, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 8, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Jennifer Blanchard McCoy, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 9, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Jocelyn Newman, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 10, will expire June 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Thomas A. Russo, Judge of the Circuit Court, At-Large, Seat 12. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2026.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Phillip K. Sinclair, Judge of the Family Court, Seventh Judicial Circuit, Seat 1, upon his retirement on or before July 31, 2020. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Harold W. (Bill) Funderburk Jr., Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 3, upon his retirement on or before December 31, 2021. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires June 30, 2025.

The term of office currently held by the Sebastian Phillip Lenski, Judge of the Administrative Law Court, Seat 6, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Marvin H. Dukes III, Master-in-Equity, Beaufort County, will expire June 30, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Martin R. Banks, Master-in-Equity, Calhoun County, will expire August 14, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Charles B. Simmons Jr., Master-in-Equity, Greenville County, will expire December 31, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Cynthia Graham Howe, Master-in-Equity, Horry County. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which will expire December 31, 2027.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable James B. Jackson Jr., Master-in-Equity, Orangeburg County, will expire August 14, 2021.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Joseph M. Strickland, Master-in-Equity, Richland County, will expire April 30, 2021.

A vacancy will exist in the office currently held by the Honorable Gordon G. Cooper, Master-in-Equity, Spartanburg County. The successor will serve a new term of that office, which will expire June 30, 2027.

The term of office currently held by the Honorable Teasa Kay Weaver, Master-in-Equity, York County, will expire June 30, 2021.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov or (803) 212-6689